Life in College

When I was a freshman, (holy crap that was four years ago), I started an email newsletter entitled “Life in College”.  I sent it to my family and friends, and they really enjoyed it.  In fact, when I see my family, they always ask when I’m going to send them another “Life in College”.

 

Well, here it is…

 

It’s sad that this could potentially be my last “Life in College” letter.  Maybe I’ll write one at the end of the semester to tell you how it went.  Then, maybe I’ll start a letter called “Life in Marriage”, or “Life with Brent”, etc.  But for now, here is what’s happening in my life.

 

Family:

My family is doing well.  Mom is in college working on her nursing degree, and dad is still doing his usual.  Ed & Nicole are doing well, Nicole is in school also, and graduating in March!  Carson and Amber are well, she is back from Hawaii.  Overall, we’re all keeping warm and working…trying to earn the big bucks 🙂

 

School:

I’m graduating in May (3 months!).  I will have an English degree with a concentration in Creative Writing.  AKA, I’ll never find a job here in Toledo.  This semester I have a really good schedule.  I’m taking a workshop in Poetry, a class called Writing the Short Story, an independent study in poetry, Spainsh 4 and……water aerobics!  Wahoo!  I’m really enjoying myself.  I have been reading and writing ALOT, but I’ve been learning and applying myself.  I’ve had more coffee so far this semester than all others combined…  I ended last semester (Fall) with a 3.3 GPA.  Not what I wanted, but not bad either.  I have a cumulative of 3.2.  Not bad either.  I’m so excited to graduate and only have a job…working and doing school is too much.

 

Work:

I still work at the Law school, and I am currently selling Pampered Chef.  Since I can’t clean houses due to my rediculous knee injury (I’ll focus on that in the next category), I decided to pick something else up, and Pampered Chef is absolutely amazing!  I love my team, and I really like doing this!  Because I’m a student, I can only work 20 hours at the Law school, so the Pampered Chef brings me to almost 30 a week!

We are both currently looking for jobs.  I will probably end up teaching…but who knows where God will lead me.  Brent is so talented and has an amazing resumee, so hopefully God blesses him with an amazing job, which he totally deserves.

 

Stupid Rediculous Knee:

I had knee surgery in June, and was scheduled for a second one in December.  Well, my insurance is stupid and decided that they wouldn’t pay for it.  Basically, I need a complete knee replacement.  My surgeon was going to try and buy me about ten-twenty years by doing a Carticel implantation for the second surgery instead of the knee replacement.  But, now I’ll have to wait until I get married to see if that insurance will cover it.

 

Wedding:

I pretty much can’t wait to be married.  In a month (March 15) Brent and I will celebrate our 6 year dating anniversary.  Yes, we have been together more that 1/4 of our lives :).  But it has been the best 6 years of my life.  I have no doubt in my mind that I am marrying the most amazing person ever. 

Plans are going well.  We have our hall, caterer, my dress, bridesmaids dresses, decorations, guest list, etc. done.  Grandma is making my veil.  This Saturday we are cake tasting!  🙂  It’s been such a blast.  Brent helps make all the decisions.  He is so great.  We’re both pretty easy-going, so it’s been so easy to make decisions.  We agree about a lot, and it has been such a blessing.  Planning this wedding has really shown me that we are going to be a great team.  He is such a great man.

 

Nina:

I of course couldn’t forget the doggy.  🙂  She’s great.  About 9 pounds now full grown.  She knows all the tricks in the book.  She’s a lot of fun and very smart.

 

Did I forget anything?  I hope not.  So, that’s what is going on in my world.  I love you all and I will do this again at the end of the semester (yay! end of the semester!)

3 Comments »

  1. Barb said

    Kazmaiers’ uses the bakers from the closed Strauss’ Bakery–who do the beautiful cakes filled with bavarian or chocolate creme that I have bought for showers. Kroger at McCord and Angola did a beautiful cake for Steph’s birthday at choir lunch.

    From one English-major to another, my young friend: The C and S words for excrement fall into the category, not of profanity (religious) or obscenity (sex), but of bathroom “vulgarity” and as such should not grace the clean lips of a fine Christian woman such as yourself, in combination with the word, “holy.” I have tried to help my family in this area, but have failed –in that they find very humorous any incidents of human flatulence which plague most humans –as far as I know –and the boys have been known to be deliberate in offense in this arena of human discourse.

    Appropriate words instead of C and S –would be the medically approved “stool” and excrement and waste –and then lumpy dum-dums, No. 2, pooh pooh and do do, stinkies and the latest from my son, “I’m got to drop my kids off at the pool.”

    Yours Truly for appropriate speech,
    B.

  2. measureayear said

    Thank you, Barb. It’s just something I say without thinking. I will try to think.

  3. Hello, It sounds like you have it all together. I am so proud of you. The main thing is you have God in your life and he is directing your path. He know the plans He has for you. Keep me posted.
    Love, Peggy

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

